Recognition and Awards

Wnet recognizes its members who demonstrate excellence in engaging, influencing and championing diversity throughout the payments industry and in their own companies.

Wnet members nominate women who they believe personify the values recognized by each award. Winners are honored at the annual Wnet Career & Leadership Awards Breakfast in the fall.

Lean in to Lead Award

The Lean in to Lead Award is given to a Wnet member who has significantly stepped forward to take a leadership role to add ideas, expertise and support that directly supports one of Wnet’s strategic objectives.


  • She is a Wnet member for more than one year
  • ​She serves on at least one Wnet committee and is present for at least 90% of committee calls
  • She attends at least one Wnet event during the year
  • She has stepped up to offer her expertise, going beyond the call of duty to provide support to other committee members and the Wnet staff and Board of Directors
  • She provides support with more than one of these strategic areas of Wnet member value: education events, networking events, mentoring, marketing/social media support, and website design/maintenance

The winner of the 2016 award is Pam McKinley, US Project Manager, Moneris.

Making Waves Award

The Making Waves Award is given to a Wnet member who has made an impact on the industry and demonstrates a commitment to furthering Wnet’s mission by exemplifying outstanding leadership and encouragement to other Wnet members.


  • Wnet member for more than one year

  • Active participation in Wnet events

  • Showcases leadership skills in her career and as an active Wnet member

  • Has made an impact in the payments industry through speaking at events, participating on industry boards, etc.

The winner of the 2016 award is Kristy Richardson, Chief Operating Officer at US Pay.

Emerging Trendsetter Award

The Emerging Trendsetter Award celebrates a woman 30 years or younger who has a bright future in the payments industry. This individual showcases her commitment and energy to improving the industry.


  • She is a Wnet member

  • She is 30 years old or younger

  • She demonstrates strong leadership potential

  • She has significantly contributed to industry improvements

The winner of the 2016 award is Amy Aton, HR Manager at Anovia Payments.

Diversity Champion Award

The Diversity Champion Award is presented to an individual, from a Wnet Corporate Sponsor, who has exemplified the spirit of diversity through contributions to her organization in the last year. This individual demonstrated leadership in expanding opportunities for women and advances diversity initiatives within her company.


  • She is a Wnet member and her company is a Wnet sponsor

  • She actively participates in her company’s leadership development programs

  • She has been active in advocating and expanding opportunities for other women in her company

  • She has supported diversity initiatives within her company

The winner of the 2016 award is Kim Holmes, Global Head of Business Technology Architecture at Discover Financial Services.

Would you like to be considered for a Wnet Award?  Do you know a Wnet member who is deserving of an award?

Submission Guidelines:

  • Nominations for 2017 awards open in late summer. Check back for dates and to nominate

  • You may nominate yourself or a colleague

  • Nominations must include one to two paragraphs describing how the nominee has stood out during the past year in the nomination category. Be sure to include concrete examples of accomplishments

  • Submit only one nomination per category

Women Driving Innovation in Payments

Since 2014, Wnet has supported the Women Driving Innovation in Payments Award, honoring an innovative female leader in the payments industry. The award is one of many Innovator Awards celebrated at The Innovation ProjectTM powered by PYMNTS.comSM.

The PYMNTS Innovator Awards are among the most prestigious recognition awards in the payments industry.

2016 Women Driving Innovation in Payments Honoree:

Talbott Roche, CEO, Blackhawk, Inc.

Check back for information about the 2017 Innovator Awards or contact them for more information.